Northwest Territories

Provincial Nominee Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories is one of Canada’s three territories located north of 60° North latitude. With a population of about 45,000, it Is bordered by the territories of Yukon to the west and Nunavut to the east, and the provinces of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan to the south. Its capital city is Yellowknife (pop. 20,000). This Territories will accept Immigrant based on following program.


Canadian citizens or permanent residents at least 18 years of age can be eligible to sponsor their spouses, common-law partners, dependent or adopted children younger up to the age of 22, or parents and grandparents to become permanent residents and live and work in Canada.


The Northwest Territories Nominee Program (NTNP) offers qualified skilled workers, professionals and managers intending to settle in the Northwest Territories the opportunity contribute their education, skills, training and experience to the territory and to be nominated to apply for permanent residency in Canada.

The NTNP offers the following streams:

Northwest Territories Express Entry Stream: 

Qualified skilled workers with education and experience may be invited to apply for nomination by the territory to meet its labour needs.

Employer Driven Program Critical Worker Stream: 

Qualified workers already working in the territory

Employer Driven Program Skilled Worker Stream: 

Qualified skilled workers already working the territory


The Business Stream of the NTNP offers opportunities to entrepreneurs, managers, and business owners willing to come to the Northwest Territories to invest in the territory. A minimum net worth of CAN $500,000 is required if investing in a business in Yellowknife, or CAN $250,000 if investing elsewhere in the territory.